Rabu, 18 April 2012

20th anniversary award nominations

The nominations for the Premier League 20 Seasons awards have been announced, with top-flight stars of past and present represented.

The awards have been set up to celebrate the 20th year since the start of the Premier League with some of the best players, managers and moments all up for debate.

There are 11 categories in total and former Manchester United favourite Eric Cantona is nominated in five.

Best player of the 20 seasons

Nominees: Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Thierry Henry, Roy Keane, Cristiano Ronaldo, Gianfranco Zola, Patrick Vieira, Alan Shearer.

Best manager of the 20 seasons

Nominees: Sir Alex Ferguson, Arsene Wenger, Jose Mourinho, David Moyes, Harry Redknapp.

Best goal of the 20 seasons

Nominations: Matt Le Tissier v Newcastle United (1993-94), Matt Le Tissier v Blackburn Rovers (1994-95), Tony Yeboah v Liverpool (1995-96), David Beckham v Wimbledon (1996-97), Eric Cantona v Sunderland (1996-97), Paolo Di Canio v Wimbledon (1999-2000), Thierry Henry v Manchester United (2000-01), Dennis Bergkamp v Newcastle United (2001-02), Alan Shearer v Everton (2002-03), Wayne Rooney v Manchester City (2010-11).

Best match of the 20 seasons

Nominations: Liverpool 4-3 Newcastle United (1995-96), Newcastle United 5-0 Manchester United (1996-97), Tottenham Hotspur 3-5 Manchester United (2001-02), Portsmouth 7-4 Reading (2007-08), Arsenal 4-4 Tottenham Hotspur (2008-09), Liverpool 4-4 Arsenal (2008-09), Manchester United 4-3 Manchester City (2009-10), Newcastle United 4-4 Arsenal (2010-11), Manchester United 8-2 Arsenal (2011-12), Manchester United 1-6 Manchester City (2011-12).

Best forward of the 20 seasons

Nominations: Dennis Bergkamp, Gianfranco Zola, Eric Cantona, Andrew Cole, Ruud van Nistelrooy, Robbie Fowler, Thierry Henry, Wayne Rooney, Alan Shearer, Ian Wright.

Other awards

Team of the 20 seasons: Blackburn Rovers (1994-95), Manchester United (1998-99), Arsenal (2003-04), Chelsea (2004-05), Manchester United (2007-08).
Best season of the 20 seasons:
1994-95, 1995-96, 1997-98, 1998-99, 2004-05, 2007-08.

Most memorable quote of the 20 seasons: Eric Cantona ("When the seagulls follow the trawler"), Alan Hansen ("You'll win nothing with kids"), Kevin Keegan ("I would love it if we beat them"), Sir Alex Ferguson ("Squeaky-bum time"), Jose Mourinho ("I am the special one").

Fantasy Team of the 20 seasons: 4-4-2 formation with 10 players nominated for each position.
Save of the 20 seasons: Peter Schmeichel – Liverpool v Man Utd (1992-93) Peter Schmeichel – Newcastle v Man Utd (1997-98) Jussi Jaaskelainen – Man Utd v Bolton (2001-02) Shay Given – Sunderland v Newcastle (2001-02) Tomasz Kuszczak – Wigan v West Brom (2005-06) Carlo Cudicini – Tottenham v Chelsea (2007-08) Brad Friedel – Blackburn v Man Utd (2007-08) Joe Hart – Liverpool v Man City (2007-08) Tomasz Kuszczak – Birmingham v Man Utd (2007-08) Craig Gordon – Sunderland v Bolton (2010-11).
Goal celebration of the 20 seasons: Sir Alex Ferguson & Brian Kidd – Man Utd v Sheff Wed (1992-93), Jurgen Klinsmann – Sheff Wed v Tottenham (1994-95), Lee Sharpe – Man Utd v Arsenal (1994-95), Eric Cantona – Man Utd v Sunderland (1996-97) Temuri Ketsbaia – Newcastle v Bolton (1997-98), Ian Wright & Neil Ruddock – West Ham v Southampton (1998-99), Steven Gerrard – Man Utd v Liverpool (2008-09), Jimmy Bullard – Man City v Hull (2009-10), Lomana Lua Lua – Newcastle – Multiple occasions, Alan Shearer – Newcastle – Multiple occasions.

source: http://www.goal.com/en-gb/news/2896/premier-league/2012/04/17/3041228/from-ronaldo-cantona-to-bergkamp-henry-premier-league-greats

Tiada ulasan:

Catat Ulasan