Rodriguez scored his all-important sixth goal from the spot as Colombia exited the competition at the quarter-final stage when beaten 2-1 by Brazil. However, his nearest challengers – 2010 Golden Boot winner Thomas Müller of Germany and Argentina’s Lionel Messi – failed to add to their account in the Final, decided by an exquisite volley by Bayern’s Mario Gotze in the 113th minute.

Monaco star Rodriguez scored six in five games, opening his account in the 3-0 win over Greece and scoring in victories over Ivory Coast and Japan, before his double in the last 16 against Uruguay which included a contender for Goal of the Tournament.

Muller’s haul of five goals saw him double his career tally at World Cups, although he is still six behind countryman Miroslav Klose who broke the overall record with his goal during the 7-1 thrashing of Brazil, his 16th in total.

Messi meanwhile finished on four goals after failing to score in any of the knockout games, while Netherlands striker Robin van Persie scored his fourth of the tournament in the play-off match against Brazil, taking the Dutch to third place in the competition.

Messi at least was rewarded with the Golden Ball for helping his side to the final, the 27-year-old having racked up four goals and one assist in seven appearances. Muller, who won the Golden Boot in South Africa four years go, picked up the Silver Ball after another fine tournament for Germany.

Top scorers

6 goals
James Rodriguez – Colombia 

5 goals
Thomas Muller – Germany

4 goals
Lionel Messi – Argentina
Robin van Persie – Netherlands
Neymar – Brazil

3 goals
Andre Schurrle – Germany
Karim Benzema – France
Arjen Robben – Netherlands
Enner Valencia – Ecuador
Xherdan Shaqiri – Switzerland